Already a member? Sign in

Evening Lecture Meetings

Student Chapter

HQ Activities

Members in News

Industry 4.0

NIQR – Prof D. R. Kiran Best Student Chapter Award for Quality Promotion 2019

NIQR – Prof D. R. Kiran Best Student Chapter Award for Quality Promotion 2019


National Institution for Quality & Reliability organised the NIQR – Prof D. R. Kiran Best Student Chapter Award for Quality Promotion 2019 on 29th February, 2020 at Hotel Hablis, Chennai.

About the Award:

Prof. D. R. Kiran is the architect of the award; for close to three years, Prof Kiran had been very particular that with some motivation, the student chapters will strive to do better in Quality related activities like lecture, conference, seminars. Etc. and propagated an award and volunteered to donate for the same.

The National Council deliberated many times and finally decided to institute an award for the Best Student Chapter in its EC Meeting on 18th November 2019 and formed a committee with Mr. C V Gowri Sankar, National Secretary, NIQR, Mr. Manikandan of Me

enakshi College, Mr. Bharaniperumal Chennai Branch Secretary and Mr. Shanmugasundaram  National ECM to take it forward.

The committee deliberated and formed evaluation criteria which were approved by National EC on 14th December. The invites were sent to all Student Chapters and the next phase of actions was at very high speed.

Initially, we were for one award named after Prof Kiran but on seeing the overwhelming response, the committee recommended three awards, namely Platinum, Gold and Silver and National President approved it.

In a glittering function, the MAGNUM Hall at Hotel Hablis was overflowing with NIQRians, Students and invited Guests numbering 150+.

Mr. C. V. Gowri Sankar, National Secretary, NIQR initiated the proceedings with invocation.

In his Presidential Address, Mr. S. Rajasekaran, National President, NIQR called upon the student community to raise above all distractions to benchmark and achieve 34 trillion economy; he emphasised that the students should not be complacent with focusing on 5 trillion economy; aim BIG and achieve BIG.

Mr. C. V. Gowri Sankar briefed about this award and added it is going to be an annual one; he wanted all chapters to be focused and prepare from now itself to achieve glory next year; by April, NIQR will send intimation with new set of evaluation criteria.

He showcased through a presentation the details about the 23 NIQR student chapters and various activities by the chapters in the last few years.

Guest of Honour Dr. N. Ravichandran, Director of India Japan Lighting, in his address, kindled the students’ minds with very interesting and absorbable anecdotes on Quality vs Inspection, Global Standards, new techniques leading to Industry 4.0, Knowledge as Power of Nation.

Guest of Honour Dr. T. Thyagarajan, Director CUIC, Anna University, in his address, dwelled on Quality Initiative, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement; he motivated the students to benchmark themselves with the best like Anna University benchmarking with Harvard and MIT for good governance with due diligence.

Chief Guest Dr. M. K. Surappa, Vice chancellor, Anna University, gave a motivating speech for the occasion; his analysis of India’s standing of 95 in National Quality Index will inspire the students to strive hard to achieve better in the coming years; definitely students have to contribute more to the nation building; he pointed out at the end  NIQR will rise to the occasion in playing a pivotal role in shaping the future of student community through its Student Chapters.

Kudos to the winners of

  1. Platinum award - Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College, Kodambakkam,
  2. Gold Award - Amal Jyothi College of Engineering, Kanjirappally, Kerala and
  3. Silver Award - SRM Institute Of Science And Technology, Vadapalani.

Dr. V. Swaminathan, Senior Vice President, NIQR readout the Citation given to the Platinum Awardee, Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College.

Congradulations to the recipients of Certificate of Excellence

  • Rajalakshmi Engineering College Thandalam
  • Aarupadaiveedu Institute of Technology Paiyanoor, Chennai
  • Central Institute of Plastics Engineering & Technology, Guindy, Chennai
  • Manakula Vinayagar Institute of Technology,  Pondicherry
  • Ramakrishna Mission Polytechnic Mylapore, Chennai
  • S. A. Engineering College Thiruverkadu, Chennai
  • Hindustan Institute of Technology & Science Padur, Chennai

Chief Guest Dr. M. K. Surappa presented the various Awards and Certificates to the winners with the celebrations and selfies lasting a long time (even during dinner)

The Platinum Awardee, Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College, Kodambakkam and Gold Awardee, Amal Jyothi College of Engineering, Kanjirappally, Kerala made presentations about their quality journey and interestingly about their future plans also.

Mr. C. V. Gowri Sankar proposed the Vote of Thanks.