NIQR has instituted various awards to recognize and honor world class organizations and distinguished individuals, which are conferred during the National Conventions. NIQR - T.S. Krishna Award – Best Essay Competition was instituted in 1982 in honor of Shri. T S Krishna, Founder Chairman of Sundaram Fasteners Ltd and the Doyen of the TVS group.

For the 15th Convention, Mr. P K Aggarwal, Chairman of the TS Krishna Award Committee spelt out the methodology for selection of the awardee in the first meeting on 5th Feb 2016. Following are the members of the committee.

  • Mr. C V Gowri Sankar, NIQR Student Chapters Coordinator
  • Dr. P Ramesh, NIQR National Co-opted Member
  • Prof C Uthayakumar, Principal, Sakthi Engineering College
  • Dr. S Mohana Murugan, HOD Automobile Engineering, Saveetha University
  • Dr. S. P. Srinivasan, HOD Mech. Engineering, Rajalakshmi Engineering College

The committee decided to give wide publicity to all institutions through posters, emails and WhatsApp inviting e-papers on the theme: “Skill India for Sustainable Global Quality”.
We have received overwhelming response which is a record in its history. 93 e-papers from 12 institutions were received.  In view of the excellent response, the Awards Committee decided to select 3 students for NIQR Award over and above the coveted NIQR – T S Krishna Award.
The jury team of Mr. N Jagannatha Rao, ECM NIQR Chennai Branch and Prof Kiran, NIQR National Council Member spent quality time for 4 days to evaluate them and shortlisted 21 for the next level of competition.
Paper Presentation in PowerPoint was organised on 4th April 2016 at NIQR Conference Hall. Mr. C V Gowri Sankar welcomed the participants and gave a brief about NIQR and the Award. Mr. S Rajasekaran presided over the Inauguration Function and wanted the students to participate in all events of NIQR and explained to them the importance of the theme for the Nation as a whole and students in particular.
The jury panel of Dr. A Sanjeeva Rao, Past National President, NIQR, Mr. Shanmugavel, Principal, Ramakrishna Mission Polytechnic College, Mylapore and Mr. A Pradeep, ECM, NIQR Chennai Branch had a tough time in evaluating the presentations. The students were very clear about the topic and its relevance in today’s employment opportunities which were revealed in the lively Q&A sessions. The feedback from participants clearly showed that they have learnt new concepts about skill development and TQM.
Mr. K N Krishnamurthy, Past National President, NIQR presided over the Valedictory Function and expressed his happiness at the depth of preparation and quality of presentation of the participants. He presented the Participation Certificates to all 19 students and mementos to all students & jury members.

Evening Lecture Meetings


Shri LSN Guptha Memorial Lecture Meeting on 10th Oct 2015


Lecture Meeting held on 29th Dec 2015 by Prof. C. Uthayakumar

Student chapters

Chennai Branch Activities

HQ Activities

Members in News

Recent Activities


Quality Congress

Read More


Award Function

Read More


Annual General Meeting Head Quarters

Read More

2015 AGM

Annual General Body Meeting chennai branch

Read More